2021 QEPrize nominations now open

Article by Amanda Jasi

NOMINATIONS for the Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering (QEPrize), the world’s most prestigious engineering accolade, opened around the world today. Winners of the £1m (US$1.2m) cash prize will be announced in February 2021.

Awarded every two years, the prize celebrates engineering “visionaries” from a wide variety of sectors of the profession, thereby inspiring young minds to consider careers in engineering and to solve current and future challenges.

The prize can be awarded to up to five engineers who are responsible for a groundbreaking engineering innovations that globally benefits humanity. If multiple people are awarded, the money will be shared between the winners as determined by the prize trustees and the judging panel.

Lord Browne of Madingley, Chairman of prize administrator QEPrize Foundation and former Chief Executive of BP, said: “Engineering transforms the very best of human imagination and creativity into tangible products, processes and services that benefit the lives of billions. It is the platform on which society is built, and the most powerful tool we have at our disposal to solve collective challenges.

“In the midst of the current global health crisis, engineers are creating new medicines and healthcare equipment; maintaining critical infrastructure for key workers and supply chains; and enhancing digital services to accommodate rapid changes to the way in which we learn, communicate and do business.

“The Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering exists to celebrate the critical role that engineering plays in society, as well as those who have changed the world through their engineering innovation.”

Previous winners of the QEPrize include chemical engineer Bob Langley, the David H Koch Institute Professor at MIT, who was awarded the prize in 2015 for his work in developing controlled release of drugs, which has transformed the lives of billions of people.

Langer holds a number of accolades, achievements, and prizes, including being the most cited engineer in history. Last year, he featured in The Chemical Engineer’s Careers in Chemical Engineering series.

Full nominations can be made by completing the nominations form at the QEPrize website. These will be assessed by an independent and international judging panel.

Nominations will remain open until 23:59 BST on 17 July 2020.

Self-nominations and posthumous nominations are not allowed.

Article by Amanda Jasi

Staff reporter, The Chemical Engineer

Recent Editions

Catch up on the latest news, views and jobs from The Chemical Engineer. Below are the four latest issues. View a wider selection of the archive from within the Magazine section of this site.