David Bogle elected as IChemE’s 81st President

Article by Adam Duckett

David Bogle

DAVID Bogle has been elected as IChemE’s President for 2022/3. The news comes as IChemE announced the names of the candidates who have been elected to roles on the Board of Trustees, Congress, and the Learned Society Committee.

Bogle said: “It’s a great honour to be elected as President of my professional Institution – especially having been an active member for almost 40 years. Climate change and sustainability need to be at the heart of our role as an Institution and for our profession.”

IChemE published a position statement on climate change last year and has committed to developing detailed positions and action plans to achieve net zero emissions.  

“I also want to see how we can ensure ethical thinking and behaviour is at the heart of our education, training and practice. I look forward to working with the trustees and all the members, and thank everyone for their support,” Bogle said.

Bogle is Professor of Chemical Engineering and Pro-Vice-Provost of the Doctoral School at University College London. He was awarded IChemE’s Council Medal in 2006 following the four years he served on Council, the forerunner to the Board of Trustees, and his involvement in the 2005 Chemical Engineering World Congress held in Glasgow, UK.

Trustee elections

The Board of Trustees is the governing body of IChemE and its members are responsible for setting the strategic direction of the Institution.

David Bogle will serve as Deputy President from June 2021 and become President in 2022. He will take over from Jane Cutler, who will become the 80th President later this year.

Alexandra Meldrum was elected to serve as Vice President (Learned Society) in place of Jarka Glassey, who has retired from the role after completing her term in office.

Andrea Hosey has been elected to a new position called Vice President (Member Engagement), which replaces the role of Vice President (Regions) in line with the Institution’s focus on member engagement as part of Strategy 2024.

Rob Best has been elected as Vice President (Qualifications) taking over from Ainslie Just, who had completed his term in office.

The position of Honorary Treasurer was uncontested and Iain Martin retains the role.

Macsene Isles-Ahite, Mark Sutton and Wendy Wilson were all re-elected as Ordinary Members of the Board of Trustees.

Congress and Learned Society

Congress is the member advisory body to the Board of Trustees and consists of two electoral colleges; one that represents geographical member groups worldwide (Regional College) and one that reflects membership grades from student to Fellow (Functional College). The list of successful candidates is available to read here.  

The Learned Society Committee sets the direction for IChemE’s technical priorities and steers the Institution’s activities as a learned society. There were eight candidates standing to fill four Ordinary Member roles. Those elected are Amanda Lake, Steven Flynn, Hui Tong Chua, and Adrian Dickison. A fifth seat became available after a member resigned and this has been awarded to Haydn Furlonge who received the next highest number of votes.

IChemE Members voted in the elections during April and May, and the appointments will be formally declared at IChemE’s AGM on 14 June.

Article by Adam Duckett

Editor, The Chemical Engineer

Recent Editions

Catch up on the latest news, views and jobs from The Chemical Engineer. Below are the four latest issues. View a wider selection of the archive from within the Magazine section of this site.