IChemE announces the nominees to take up trustee positions in 2018

Article by Staff Writer

ICHEME has announced the final nominees for its 2018 trustee vacancies. Eighteen nominations from the wider IChemE membership will stand for five trustee roles – deputy president, vice president (international), and three ordinary members. An honorary treasurer has also been appointed. 

In recent consultations, conversations and meetings attended by trustees, IChemE members expressed a strong desire to be more involved in IChemE’s leadership. So when the nominations period opened on 8 February, IChemE’s current trustees took the decision to not nominate, and called for members to put themselves forward. 

The nominations period closed on 9 March, with a good number of members showing an interest in the roles. The Interim Candidate Committee (ICC) assessed the eligibility of the nominated members during a period of consultation from 12–19 March.

The final candidates are listed below, with full profiles on each candidate available via MyIChemE and IChemE’s new member-only forum – Interface. IChemE members are encouraged to ask nominees questions via this forum. 

Voting opened on 29 March and closes at 23:59 BST on 30 April. Only voting members (Chartered Members or Fellows of IChemE in good standing) are eligible to vote in the 2018 IChemE elections. More details on voting are available below. 

The result of the ballot will be announced at IChemE’s Annual General Meeting on 21 May 2018 in the Turing Lecture Theatre at IET, Savoy Place, London WC2R 0BL. 

Nominees for deputy president 2018 (to become president in 2019) – one vacancy

To lead the trustees and ensure IChemE strategy and policy reflect its aim to be an Institution that is led by members, supporting members and serving society. 

Max Lu AO FIChemE, president and vice-chancellor, University of Surrey (UK) 
Andrew Thompson CEng FIChemE, technical manager, Royal HaskoningDHV (UK) 

One vote per voting member for deputy president 2018

Nominees for vice-president (international) 2018 – one vacancy

To work closely with non-UK national boards to deliver IChemE’s strategic aims. Specifically, to nurture and support the development of IChemE and of the profession, particularly in those countries where we do not already have a mature operation, and to act as a source of guidance and advice to the trustees and staff in order that IChemE’s work and policy are an appropriate fit to each country and geographic region involved. 

Michael Cloke CEng FIChemE, formerly dean of engineering and science, Curtin University (Malaysia) 
Thomas White CEng MIChemE, CEO of SteamTech & Co (Oman) 

One vote per voting member for vice president (international) 2018

Nominees for ordinary member – three vacancies

Ordinary members will be responsible for ensuring the smooth running of the Institution in line with statutory requirements. 

Michael Burcher CEng FIChemE, formerly owner, Michael Burcher Consultants (UK) 
Christopher Chambers CEng FIChemE, associate director – process & engineering, BakerHicks (UK) 
Ian Davies CEng FIChemE, consultant, Ian Davies Consulting (UK) 
David Edwards CEng CSci FIChemE, head consultant/lead working environment engineer, Granherne/KBR (UK) and visiting professor of chemical engineering at Loughborough University (UK) 
Michael Hancock CEng FIChemE, director, Dee Associates (Business Consultants) (UK) 
Alan Harper CEng CSci CEnvFIChemE, principal, StatoCirrus Technologies (UK) 
Nigel Hirst CEng FIChemE, chairman, Haden Freeman (UK) 
Peter Hunt CEng FIChemE, business development director, ABB (UK) 
Macsene Isles-Ahite CEng MIChemE, process engineer, Browns Wood Service (UK) 
Brett Mahar CEng MIChemE, director – engineering and safety, HRO Solutions (Australia) 
Keith Plumb CEng CSci FIChemE, director, Integral Pharma Services and visiting lecturer, University of Chester (UK) 
Lakshan Saldin CEng FIChemE, director, Agillis KLM (UK) 
Stefaan Simons CEng FIChemE, dean of College of Engineering, Design and Physical Sciences, Brunel University London (UK) 
Mark Sutton CEng FIChemE, technology application director, Johnson Matthey (UK) 
Wendy Wilson CEng MIChemE, 
formerly general manager Americas for project services, Shell Global Solutions (US) 

Three votes per voting member for ordinary member 2018

Honorary treasurer – one vacancy

No formal nominations were received for the honorary treasurer role. However, Iain Martin, CEng FIChemE, business development and incubator director, Johnson Matthey (UK), who was due to stand down at the AGM in May, had indicated that he would be happy to continue on Council for a further year in the role of honorary treasurer. The Interim Candidate Committee, therefore confirmed that Iain Martin would become IChemE’s honorary treasurer with effect from the end of the AGM on 21 May 2018.

No voting will take place

How to vote

Voting opened at 12:00 (BST) on 29 March via Mi-Voice and will close at 23:59 on 30 April. All members with a valid email address should have received an email from Mi-Voice with details of their unique voter code, and instructions on how to vote via www.mi-vote.com.

Currently there are some voting members for which we do not hold email addresses. These members will receive their voting packs in the post and will be provided with a postal voting form. If you are unable to vote online for any reason, please contact Mi-Voice to request a postal voting form. 

Article by Staff Writer

Recent Editions

Catch up on the latest news, views and jobs from The Chemical Engineer. Below are the four latest issues. View a wider selection of the archive from within the Magazine section of this site.